Recovering from Ike

Well we just got power back after we lost it Friday night. We have a tree on our roof still and that will be there for a while and our fence is gone. We are very, very lucky. we are all alive and so is everyone I know. We all have our homes. Now that I’m finally able to see the devastation Ike caused all I can do it sit in disbelief.

I’ve seen some amazing things these past few days. Strangers helping each other, people still being polite and showing kindness. I would also like to mention the wonderful people I spoke with from Allstate. Not only are they doing everything they can to get to us but there was a wonderful woman that stayed on the phone with me when I unexpectedly just broke and started bawling. Even though she didn’t need to, she stayed on the phone with me until I was calm enough to face my girls.

I would also like to send a special thank you toΒ Vanessa Β and Dane. Without them I don’t know what we would have done. They were a rock for my family and showed the true and definite meaning of love and friendship. They gave us priceless information and support these last few days. Even in the days before the storm. Thank God for them. I love you both and I would be a shivering ball of broken nerves without you.

And last but so not least. I would like to thank all the men and women from here and around the country that have done an amazing job getting power back to Texas. We would be lost without you. Also the police and fire departments who put their live on the line to make sure we were safe. Thank you. Thank you. Thank you.

Lots of love for everyone,

Raga

Published in: on September 16, 2008 at 1:00 am  Comments (15)  
Tags: , , , , , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://knytstalker.wordpress.com/2008/09/16/recovering-from-ike/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

15 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. *Hugs* hon. I’m sooooo glad you’re all okay down there. You have no idea how worried I was, or how hard I prayed. I love you too. πŸ™‚

  2. We’re happy to have helped, hon, and there’s no need to thank us for loving you. We’re so glad you’re all okay.

  3. My way out would be to blind myself with rampant smack use, but actually facing your problems would work too.

    And j/k I don’t really use smack, just joke about really darc issues.

    Glad you’re all okay!

  4. disregard any disrespectful comments you may read by me, they occur at the wee hours of the morning and often times i am unaware of them.

    They may keep you on your toes at least!

  5. LMAO J.R. I like those strange little messages that happen in the wee hours of the morning. It reminds me of my days as a drunk dialer. I was that girl that would call at 3 and leave long but at least entertaining messages.

    You do keep me on my toes and I love your humor! πŸ™‚

  6. It’s amazing to hear (well, in this case read) that people are being helpful and working together for the greater good after something like a hurricane.

  7. Hey Stalker, I’m Ben and I ‘unfortunately’ have become one of DarcKnyt’s followers. I think he is trying to create the Order of the Fist to control the world! I hope things are going well down in your neck of the woods and your recovery process proceeds quickly! Hang tough and if we can do anything to help let us know!

    Ben and Kristy Rogers

  8. Thank you for the kind words WIGSF. Sadly it seems that most of America seems to have forgotten or just doesn’t really care about what happened to us. We down here are doing what we always do though, and that’s take care of each other. Our citizens, who have lost so much, are still giving what they have to help those who have nothing. Not to mention our fantastic mayor. He’s been a beacon of light to all the people here, keeping our best interests at heart and taking on FEMA, (don’t get me started), and the federal government.

    Thank you Ben and Kristy! Unfortunately there isn’t much anyone can do at this point, unless you know how to make Allstate approve the much needed repairs on my house. I’ll take any tips! Hell at this point I’d pay to have someone come down and argue with the adjuster for us. Sorry, we’re just desperate. LOL
    So pleased to have met another zombie lover out there! Zombies rule! πŸ˜€

    OBEY THE FIST!!!

  9. LMAO!

    OBEY THE FIST!! JOIN THE ORDER OF THE FIST!! πŸ˜€

  10. I just figured out that you are “Raga” I feel slow. I also thought you were a dude for some reason.

    Then you called me “sugar” on my blog. Which was either really gay or feminine.

    I’m trying to connect the “darc” dots and see how all of these people are connected.

  11. Ah, nope. I’m 100% American woman. Not gay. Sugar is just something I call people from time to time. It’s an endearment meant to brighten your day. Maybe it’s a Southern thing, but I doubt it.

    Raga is a strange name though so don’t feel bad that you thought I was a guy. My mom was a hippie so what can you expect.

    The “darc” dots are growing. You can’t stop the signal. I found Darc, through him Vanessa, and so on and so forth. And now we’re one big, weird, happy family.

  12. Join the Darc side, J.R. … and OBEY THE FIST!!

  13. ROFL – Oh JR! You’re so funny! The Darc dots! Sounds like a syndrome!

    Raga – one big happy indeed! πŸ˜€

  14. Hey, sorry I’m late to this post! I am also glad you survived, and I hope that everything is getting back to normal.

    πŸ™‚

  15. I just watched a documentary on the heavens gate colt and the founder was from Houston. I won’t be obeying the fist anytime soon.

    I think you should start some sort of darckynt movement and get as many blogs as you can to reference your own. A “darc” circle.


Leave a Reply

