Happy belated birthday Houston!

I just wanted to give a shout-out to my city. Houston, Texas turned 172 on August 30th. Happy Birthday!! Sorry it’s so late. We’ve been a little busy with Mother Nature. πŸ˜‰

Anyone who knows me knows of the great love I have for Houston and Texas in general.Β  I love it! Even when I move away, Houston will always be home and my favorite place on Earth. I wanted to share a few neat facts and tidbits about Houston so you can get an idea of why I think it’s so great. Enjoy!

  • Houston has a Theater District second only to New York City in terms of a concentration of seats in a single geographic area. Located downtown, the 17-block Theater District is home to eight performing arts organizations with more than 12,000 seats.
  • Houston has a unique museum district offering a range of museums, galleries, art and cultural institutions, including the Houston’s major museums.
  • Houston has more than 500 cultural, visual and performing arts organizations, 90 of which are devoted to multicultural and minority arts.
  • More than 90 languages are spoken throughout the Houston area.
  • Houston is home to the Houston Livestock Show and Rodeo. The largest rodeo in the world, it attracts more than 1.8 million visitors each year.
  • Houston has a young population; 37 percent of Houstonians are 24 years old or younger and 34 percent are between the ages of 25 and 44.
  • Houston boasts more than 40 colleges, university and institutions – offering higher education options to suit all interests.
  • Houston is home to the Texas Medical Center, the largest medical center in the world, with a local economic impact of $10 billion. More than 52,000 people work within its facilities, which encompass 21 million square feet. Altogether 4.8 million patients visit them each year.
  • Home to 18 Fortune 500 companies and more than 5,000 energy related firms, Houston is considered by many as the Energy Capital of the world. Companies headquartered in Houston include Halliburton, ConocoPhillips, Marathon Oil Corp and Dynegy.
  • The Port of Houston ranks as the nation’s largest port in international tonnage and second in total tonnage.
  • Houston has the most affordable housing of 10 most populated metropolitan areas; Houston housing costs are 39 percent below the average of 26 U.S. urban populations of more than 1.5 million.
  • Houston has the second lowest cost of living among major American cities.
  • Houston is the fourth most populous city in the nation (trailing only New York, Los Angeles and Chicago), and is the largest in the southern U.S. and Texas.
  • Houston has more than 11,000 restaurants.
  • Houston has professional teams representing every major sport.
  • More than 38 million people each year fly in and out of Houston’s two major airports: Bush Intercontinental and William P. Hobby.
  • This is just a small taste of the great things about Houston.Β For more interesting facts check out Wikipedia. http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Historical_events_of_Houston

    Published in: on September 29, 2008 at 7:05 pm  Comments (10)  
    Tags: , , , ,

    The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://knytstalker.wordpress.com/2008/09/29/happy-belated-birthday-houston/trackback/

    RSS feed for comments on this post.

    10 CommentsLeave a comment

    1. Sounds like a ripping good time to me. I mean, y’know … besides the 110 degree weather and 90% humidity and whatnot. πŸ˜‰

    2. You make Houston sound “teh awesome” hon! Now if we could just put it in southwest VA, I’d so be there in a heartbeat! πŸ˜‰

    3. i can handle the heat and humidity as long as there are girls in Texas Flag bikinis. Where else but Texas?

      Your State actually takes pride in things and seems to have some sort of psychic connection with me. I have heard fantastic stories of women there, like that they are not cold, morbid or proudly ethnic bitches (I know you have a lot of Mexicans but the ones that assimilate to Texan culture are fine by me)

      Just knowing there is a State where women actually have State Flag bikinis is like opening the door to a different dimension to me.

    4. Hi J.R. ~ The nice thing about the heat and humidity here is that there are a lot of lakes in Texas and we’re next to the beach. That way you get to see all the hot chicks in their Texas bikini’s and, (not that you care), but all the hot guys in their cowboy hats. lol

      Also, I don’t think there is anything wrong with pride in where you’re from. I feel sorry for people who don’t understand what it’s like to be happy about where you live.

      There are also a lot of fantastic people here. I have a friend you would get a kick out of, that is as long as you don’t mind a cougar. πŸ™‚

    5. I’m going to do a monumental post of the bleakness of the natives of the region I’m from soon.

      I remember saying to a relative of mine, “life is just doing what you don’t want to do”

      And he replied, “Thats exactly right.”

      Just insanity with the people up here and no one even knows because the region is isolated.

      Maybe is goes back to all these stern catholics up here a few generations separated from their gloomy europe roots.

      I don’t know, I’m sick of not being proud of where i live, even though ohio is much better than illinois.

      The Texas bikini thing is unbelievable to me because it would not happen up here or with any other state.

    6. oh feel free to refer your texas bikini cougar friend to my blog, lol

    7. yeah if your texas women look anything like the ones in the picture or like a younger Sarah Palin, give them my e-mail- lol

    8. J.R. I think you were born in the wrong state. You sound just as brainwashed as the rest of us Texans. πŸ™‚

      I’ll try to get a picture of my cougar neighbor soon. She’s blond and that’s almost a given with the women here. Texas women love to be blond. That’s a stereotype I’ll say is a fact.

    9. I think I was born in the wrong State and wrong time. Probably the wrong universe as my opinions seem really obvious to me, and way out in the deep end to anyone else.

    10. I think you just haven’t met the right people and lived in the right place yet. Too bad you can’t rent an RV and travel around the states for a few months to see if you find a place that works for you. I knew a girl that was very unhappy with where she lived and the people she lived around who went to Colorado for vacation and never left. There’s a place for everyone. I personally would love nothing more than to move to the woods or a mountain far away from most people and their ridiculous amount of bullshit.


    Leave a Reply

