Affirmative action sucks!

All affirmative action is doing is dumbing down our country. It tells people of color that they don’t have to work hard and earn their way. Worse it tells them that they aren’t smart enough to get jobs without being a person of color so why bother trying to get ahead with hard work and studying. I know that affirmative action was started to help minorities due to racism or whatever but enough is enough. It’s served it’s purpose and needs to stop. People who are more qualified for certain jobs can’t get them because they are white. What does this mean to the consumer? Simple. It means that you may not get the best customer service or the highest quality product because employers can’t necessarily hire the most qualified person for the job. That’s bullshit. People will say I’m a racist and all I can say is pffttt. If I were black or hispanic I would be pissed. I would have the mindset of how dare you think I’m not smart enough to get this job on my own. 

Affirmative action is one of the many things set up by the government to “help” our country and all it’s doing is widening the racial divide. These programs are doing far more harm than good. No group deserves special treatment purely because of the amount of pigment in their skin or their sex or sexual preference. Now I know people are going to say I don’t get it because I’m white. Well fuck you, I do. I’m a woman and I’m well aware of the glass ceiling. I had to get over it and work harder to get promotions and raises. Such is life. It sucks but all I can do is work harder and show that I deserve these things and I’m a better person for it. LIFE ISN’T FAIR. Get over it.

To my brothers and sisters of color. Don’t be mad at me. Be mad at the system that says you aren’t good enough or smart enough. Work hard and get jobs on merit, not a hand out. Show America that you are deserve to succeed because you are smart, not because of some stupid law that is doing nothing but bring down your races.

If this offends you, think about why it offends you. You should find it offensive because the government doesn’t think you’re good enough. Not because I think the system is bullshit.

Published in: on October 17, 2008 at 5:05 pm  Comments (4)  
Tags: ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://knytstalker.wordpress.com/2008/10/17/affirmative-action-sucks/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

4 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. This is almost as annoying as those “mexicans” who drive around with the huge Mexican flags in America.

  2. I just now got this post in my feedreader. JUST now. I know that’s not on topic. Sorry. But it annoys me that I’m the last one to know about my friends’ posts.

    Yes, AA sucks, big time. It’s reverse discrimination. Nothing more.

  3. It sucks like a Hoover.

  4. Hi,

    My name is Tia and I’m an editor at OpposingViews.com, the debate website. Since we both cover race issues, I thought I’d drop you a note. I would’ve e-mailed you but I couldn’t find an address.
    See, we’re currently having a discussion about whether or not we still need affirmative action. You can see it here:
    http://www.opposingviews.com/questions/do-we-still-need-affirmative-action
    Although vetted experts are the ones doing the debating, anyone can contribute by choosing a side and posting comments about the experts’ arguments.
    Check it out and, if you have the time, let me know what you think at tia@opposingviews.com
    Thanks!


Leave a Reply

